Our school family
Our school family
Archbishop Sentamu Academy
Aspire Academy
Barlby High School
Burton Green Primary School
Compass Academy
Forest of Galtres Primary School
George Pindar School
Graham School
Manor CE Academy
Newland St John’s CE Academy
Poppleton Ousebank Primary School
Skelton Primary School
St James’ CE Academy
Vale of York Academy


Members of Hope Sentamu Learning Trust 

Diocese of York Educational Trust

Represented by:

Archbishop of York

Represented by:

Chapter of York

Represented by:


Name of TrusteeNature of any business interests including details of the company or organisationStart date of interestDetails of governor membership at another school or academyDetails of any relationship between trustee and member of Trust staff (eg spouse)
Mr Andrew Smith (DBE Representative)Director of DBE Services – a Consortia of Northern Dioceses providing building/school improvement support2016Member – Ebor MAT, Dales
MAT, Galileo MAT, The
Education Alliance, Elevate
Collaborative Learning
Trust, Pathfinder MAT,
South York MAT
Trustee of the National Society – Governance of the Church of England Education Office2019
Director of Diocese of York Educational Trust (DYET)2016
The Right
Reverend Paul
Ferguson, Bishop
of Whitby
(Archbishop of
DBE Services (Educational Trading Company) (Director & Chair)2008N/A
York Diocesan Board of Finance (ex-offico Director)2001
Diocese of York Educational Trust (Director & Chair)2013
Dales Academic Trust (Member, Director & Chair)2013
Sentamu Academy Learning Trust (Member)2014
Ebor Academy Trust (Member)2016
Pathfinder Academy Trust (Member)2014
Together Middlesbrough & Cleveland (Director & Chair)2017
York St John University (Director)2017
Westcott House, Cambridge (Trustee & Chair)2018
Methodist Chapel Aid (Director)2021
Lindy Illingsworth (DYET Representative)Tadcaster Bridge Project, Trustee2022Diocese of York Education Trust
Bereavement Volunteer, Cruse Support2020
Member of Parish of Marston Moor1990
Member of Parish of Rural Ainsty2020
Reverend Canon Michael Smith (Dean and Chapter of York Minster Representative)Council Member of Friends of York Minster2022Foundation Governor, Archbishop Holgate’s School
Member, York Diocesan Leadership Team & Archbishop’s Council2022
York Minster Mystery Plays Board, Trustee2016
St Williams College Enterprises Ltd, Director2013
Friends of York Minster Council Member (non-voting)2013
The Fellowship of the Maple Leaf, Trustee2006
Residentiary Canon York Minster2013
Acting Dean of York2022
Director, York Minster Enterprises2013
St Williams College Trust, Trustee2013
York Minster Fund, Trustee2022

Members of Hope Sentamu Learning Trust who have stood down in the last 12 months

Mr Martin Barnes 01/04/2015 – 20/05/2022
Nature of any Business Interests:
– Diocese of York Education Trust Representative Member
– Ashplant Consulting Ltd
– Elevate MAT (Member)

The Right Reverend Dr Jonathan Frost 10/10/2019 – 19/10/2021
Nature of any Business Interests:
– Pathfinder MAT, Member
– St Peter’s School York, Governor

Mr Philip Ashton (DYET Representative) 01/02/2015 – 10/11/2021
Nature of any Business Interests:

Members of Hope Learning Trust (York) who have stood down in the last 12 months

Mr Tony Myers 19/07/17  – 31/08/2021
Nature of any Business Interests: None

The Right Reverend Dr John Thomson 10/10/2019 – 31/08/2021
Nature of any Business Interests: TBC

Members of Sentamu Academy Learning Trust (Hull) pending closure of the company

Right Reverend Paul Ferguson 01/02/2015 – ongoing
Representative of The Archbishop of York
Nature of any Business Interests: TBC

The Right Reverend Alison White 14/12/2020 – ongoing
Nature of any Business Interests: TBC

Peter Duffield 09/10/2018 – ongoing
Nature of any Business Interests:
– Director of Age UK Hull & East Riding
– Director & Company Secretary of Kingsbridge Careworks CIO
– Sentamu Academy Learning Trust (Director)
– Brighter Future Learning Partnership MAT (Trustee)
– Child Dynamix Charity (Trustee)
– Northern Academy of Performing Arts (Trustee)
– The Rotary Club of Hull (Director)
– Institute of Chartered Accountants (Council Member)


Join our Talent Pool

Not found the vacancy you’re looking for today? Head to MyNewTerm to register for our Talent Pool.