Our school family
Our school family
Archbishop Sentamu Academy
Aspire Academy
Baldersby St James Primary School
Barlby High School
Burton Green Primary School
Compass Academy
Forest of Galtres Primary School
George Pindar School
Graham School
Manor CE Academy
Newland St John’s CE Academy
Poppleton Ousebank Primary School
Skelton Primary School
St James’ CE Academy
Vale of York Academy

Green light for MAT merger

Two multi academy trusts (MATs) in the region have been given the green light to merge next year.

Hope Sentamu Learning Trust and Sentamu Academy Learning Trust, based in Hull, will join together to form the Hope Sentamu Learning Trust in September 2021. The two Church of England Trusts, who have been working in partnership for the past year, received approval for the merger from the Regional School Commissioners (RSC) on 19 November.

The Trusts have a common purpose in terms of ethos, their underlying principles of enhanced levels of continuous school improvement and ensuring the flourishing of students within their communities, guide activities throughout the MATs.

The newly formed Hope Sentamu Learning Trust, will include six secondary, seven primary and two alternative provision academies across York, Hull, Selby and Scarborough.

Tony Myers, Chair of Hope Sentamu Learning Trust said: “Trustees and Senior Leaders in both MATs have a clear joint commitment to ensure the flourishing of students within our communities and providing opportunities for staff to develop their own career pathways, alongside the provision of high-quality education and resources. This solution provides real strengths, creating a natural synergy.

“The key benefits of this merged Trust through increased size and scaling will lead to enhanced levels of continuous school improvement; cross-fertilisation of best practice and improved opportunities for mutual support; improved value for money within the resources available; enhanced back-office functions; and the ability to grow further.”

The two MATs appointed Helen Winn as their CEO in September 2020. Helen took the helm after the previous CEOs, Brian Crosby (Hope Sentamu Learning Trust) and Andrew Chubb (Sentamu Academy Learning Trust) retired from their posts.

Helen said “This exciting merger gives us the chance to continue to develop as one Trust so that everyone in our communities is given the opportunity to thrive. Schools across both of our Trusts have already been working together since September and so we already have a family of schools who share best practice. Each one of our schools has its own distinctive character, identity and strengths which it brings to the Trust so that we all benefit from each other. We have a very bright future ahead!”

The Hope Sentamu Learning Trust currently has ten academies across North Yorkshire: Manor CE Academy, Vale of York Academy, Barlby High School, George Pindar School, Graham School, Poppleton Ousebank Primary School, Forest of Galtres Anglican Methodist Primary School, Burton Green Primary School, Skelton Primary School and Baldersby St James CE Primary School.

The Sentamu Academy Learning Trust currently has five academies in Hull: Archbishop Sentamu CE Academy, Aspire Academy, The Compass Academy, Newland St John’s CE Primary Academy and St James’ CE Primary Academy.

24 November 2020

Join our Talent Pool

Not found the vacancy you’re looking for today? Head to MyNewTerm to register for our Talent Pool.

Follow us

WE'RE ALL IN THIS TOGETHER... 🎵🏀 Good luck to everyone performing in this summer's show! This will be fantastic twitter.com/grahamschool/s…